Fred Tomaselli was born in Santa Monica, California in 1956. He received a bachelor of arts from the California State University, Fullerton, in the year of 1982. His style of art reminds me of something that may have been found on Grateful Dead album cover, and I find it very interesting. He makes lots of statements in his art about the beauty of nature and the wild entanglement of different animals we encounter through an array of smaller objects to form a collage that forms the focal point. His work may be described by some as psychedelic and mind stimulating. To me, I find his artwork very intriguing to look at and it allows for an endless stream of interpretation and analysis at the smaller details in the work.

Perhaps a best explanation for his works can be expressed by the man himself, in an interview by Robert Ayers, Fred Tomaselli stated, “I want people to get lost in the work. I want to seduce people into it and I want people to escape inside the world of the work. In that way the work is pre-Modernist. I throw all of my obsessions and loves into the work, and I try not to be too embarrassed about any of it. I love nature, I love gardening, I love watching birds, and all of that gets into the work. I just try to be true to who I am and make the work I want to see. I don’t have a radical agenda.”

Quoted atributed to: Robert Ayers (October 20, 2006), Fred Tomaselli, ARTINFO, http://www.artinfo.com/news/story/22791/fred-tomaselli/, retrieved 2008-04-21

