I woke up this morning determined to change my life around, and have decided to lose 30 lbs in the next six months.  I have been working out since this past August and have lost quite a bit of weight.  Something happened over the holidays, and I just lost whatever burning desire I had to wake up and run.  A family member of mine who is in Germany gave me some awesome encouragement, recipes, and workout ideas to get me back on track.  

It seems like I am always trying to better myself in some way, shape, or form.  I want to be the best that I can possibly be and serve as an anchor for my friends and family.  Let’s be real though… who really wants to run, sweat, lift heavy weights, and repeat day after day? Not this girl, but I will do what I have to do to shed the pounds, love myself, and feel good.  The nice thing about living in Richmond is that I can run outside and take thousands of different routes.  Other than the sidewalks that are uneven from the tree roots sprouting up beneath them, accidental construction mishaps, and of course the lovely bricks that go missing just hoping for you to land on your face for all of Richmond to see, it is a very unique place.  

I’m often amazed that I mustered up the courage to pack my bags, leave my family, and live in a city where nobody knew my name.  It was so easy for me and I am forever grateful that I had that sense of courage within me.  If I would have stayed in Virginia Beach i am pretty sure I would be a completely different person.  In fact I know I would be.  Life is all about the chances you take. I am taking several at the moment and slightly overwhelming myself, but that is just how my motors turn.  I’m starting to scare myself with all of these risks I am taking such as changing my major from dental hygiene to English, changing my course of direction by wanting to teach high school, embarking on the long journey to obtain my teacher’s license, and the insane amount of tests I have to take in the next few weeks! I totally got this.

– Ashton 

